Set LED-encoders/value on BCR2000

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
OSon
OSon's picture
Set LED-encoders/value on BCR2000

Hi,

i am new in Programming then BCR2000. Maybe this question was answered before, but i didn’t found anything.

I try to send some sysex Data to my Axe FX. This works very well! But I also like to receive some Sysex Data from the axe Fx to set the value of the encoders. If i recall another preset on my Axe FX, i want to manipulate the actual data in the axe fx. Via sysex I am able to read out the different parameters of my Axe FX preset. So now I have to set the encoders too. 

Is it Possible with the BCR2000 and the BC manager?

thank you for your help!

Royce
Royce's picture

Hi,
Firstly, the sad news, you can't send sysex to the BC and get it to reset it's value.

This would be very difficult for the BC to do as it would have to be able to sort out how to handle the dozens of different
positions the data could be in.
Also it would have to know what the form the data is in (E-mu uses 2 bytes of data for 14bit positive and negative data.
Kenton use 8 bits, but splits it up over two bytes, Roland can use up to 4 bytes for a single value... etc).

You can only do what you want to do by a 'man in the middle' computer or micro controller.
It would take the sysex from the synth and extract the value and send it to the BC as a CC message.

In fact it is best for the BC just to send and receive CC messages and the computer to sort out the sysex.
This way when you do a patch change on the synth and it sends out a PC message the computer can request a bulk dump
of the patch (the quickest way to get it) and then unpack it and send out a series of CC messages to the BC
so it will be in sync with the synth.

This setup can be quick and very effective and turn the BC and the synth into great single machine.
You might like to look at my website where I have done this for a Korg DW6000 and again for a Yamaha 4op FM synth the TQ5.