BC Manger to Korg DW 8000 error - Wrong Manufacturer

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
dw8000
dw8000's picture
BC Manger to Korg DW 8000 error - Wrong Manufacturer

I am a newbie. I am having an issue with BCmanager with my Korg DW8000.  When I try and send the DW8000 Preset sysex file to my BCR 2000 I get the following error in a pop up window:

Error: MIDI system exclusive error

Wrong Manufacturer

Message 1 

I have downloaded the DW-8000 ini (Configuration settings) file from Mountain Utilities.

I stumbled on a drop down menu in the "Encoders" window under "insert SysEx Parameter" that listed may other synths but it did not include any Korg devices. 

I have copied and pasted the file to the following folder on my PC:

Computers->Local Disk->Program Files (x86)->Mountain Utilities->BC Manager->Models

I now see the DW-8000 in the drop down menu but still get the error. I have restarted the PC after copying the file over. I have also reinstalled BC Manager.

Does anyone know how to fix this error?

Many thanks in advance!!

Mark van den Berg
Mark van den Berg's picture

The "Wrong manufacturer" error may occur when BC Manager has uploaded a SysEx message to a BCR and is expecting a confirmation SysEx message from that BCR specifying Behringer (i.e. $00 $20 $32) but instead receives a SysEx message specifying a different manufacturer.
You may want to monitor the incoming MIDI messages via the "MIDI input messages" window (press Record) to find the actual offending message.

A side-note: you shouldn't put a SysEx definition file (with the ".ini" extension) in "C:\Program Files (x86)\..."; instead, use "C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\Mountain Utilities\BC Manager\Models". (The third button in the "Insert SysEx parameter" dialog box opens this folder.)
See section 18 of the BC Manager manual for further details.

Hope this helps,
Mark.

dw8000
dw8000's picture

Mark,

Thanks for the quick reply.